Being Careful with Xanax

I was shocked when researching an article about Xanax that many people were advising others to just stop taking it. Now I’m not a doctor, so I’m not qualified to say whether you should or shouldn’t be prescribed the medication often used to treat anxiety, but I have done enough medical research as a writer to know that stopping cold turkey can be a dangerous and life threatening mistake. And I wanted to say something here about it in case anyone is considering it.

xanax-depression.jpg

Xanax is a highly addictive medication that is certainly useful, but can have serious consequences when one wants to get off of it. I’m sure you’ve seen people on TV going through withdrawals, usually for illegal drugs like cocaine and such. They are in extreme pain, sweating, hearing or seeing things that aren’t there, basically living in a man made Hell. But in the end, they come through to the other side no worse for the wear, returning back to normal without any complications. But even if you are willing to submit yourself to that sort of torture, real life withdrawal is far more dangerous. The need is not just psychological, but physical. Your body has learned that it cannot live without the chemical and if it is deprived of it just as if it were deprived of oxygen, horrific things can happen, including organ failure and death.